The Artist

clanet-artisteVéronique Clanet, an artist life

 

Member of the prestigious Taylor Foundation and of the Maison des Artists, Véronique Clanet has been exhibiting her work in France and abroad for more than 20 years. Her exhibitions offer visitors a privileged moment in which to discover her tenderness, delicacy and sensitivity.

Véronique is originally from the Ariège but she now lives in Lahitte-Toupière, a small village in the Hautes-Pyrénées.

At 27 years old she enrolled in Tarbes School of Art.

Although her first creations were inspired by Modigliani, she rapidly developed her own style in which depictions of women, the position of the head, expressions on faces and the use of colour are very much to the fore.

In 2001 she created and led “l’Atelier de Véro” (Véro’s workshop) which enabled her to pass on her skills in fine arts to students while continuing to perfect her own artistic knowledge.

After 10 years full of sharing and emotions she decided to once again dedicate herself entirely to her own work, particularly sculpture.

This second period has seen the expression of her sensitivity through the realisation of bronzes such as “Les Femmes Feuilles”. These confirm her mastery of movement through voluptuous and sensual scenes imbued with peace, love and sweetness.

Véronique Clanet, however, found that she needed to go further and broader. Propelled by an overflowing creative ambition she has chosen to work in other forms; with other techniques; and in other materials.

It is natural therefore that she has decided to take up her brushes once again. This return to her sources has brought the affirmation and recognition of her as an artist through the creation of the emblematic “Pétillantes” which, in themselves, symbolise the universe of Véronique Clanet.

Whether on canvas, in resin or in fired clay we are plunged into the universe of the Roaring Twenties. The expressions of these ladies encapsulate a wise a knowing mix of naivety and seduction.

We have here an invitation to discover the works of an artist who knows how to diversify her talent to create personalities and explore characters on particular themes (such as Marianne), all in her own style. Her works have found their way into galleries and other prestigious display areas dedicated to the contemplation of art.

There is nothing left except for you to come and discover these works: to approach them and to listen to them. Without doubt they will carry you away with them and make you want to share the marvellous fairy world of the “Pétillantes”.

Pascal Carabin

 


 

clanet-atelierA painter, sculptor from the Hautes Pyrénées

 

Imagine a beautiful village in Hautes-Pyrénées.

A few authentic houses thrown higgledy-piggeldy into a natural landscape which has barely been tamed.

A peace that captivates you over as soon as you reach the first houses.

Away from the stress and distractions of the city, this is where Véronique Clanet has chosen to set up home with her family. Her house is in the typical style of the region and hidden behind a screen of tenderness and love. This ancient building, with its plantlife rooted in the soil, exudes an aura of strength and stability that inspires respect and confidence.

Having been politely invited to visit, I discover somewhere that seems to me to be magical. I am drawn by it. I am attracted by the sincerity of the place and a desire to let myself be overwhelmed by the peace that reigns here.

I enter the garden that surrounds the house. I feel lighter, reassured. I empty myself. What happiness !

What could be more normal than to find an artist here.

A true artist in her emotions, and in the sensitivity of her interpretation.

But also an all-powerful artist who draws her strength from her roots but resolutely looks towards the future.

When I cross the threshold of her studio I find myself in a peculiar universe. I expect to find a  typical artist’s den: untidy, cluttered, smelling of clay, oil, perspiration, cold coffee and tobacco. There is none of that. Instead, everything is perfectly arranged. The ground floor is dedicated to sculpture. The upper floor is a painting studio and showroom. Two spaces dedicated to creativity and the realisation of dreams. Returning to the sculpture studio, I am struck by the amount of natural sunlight that enters everywhere to illuminate this Ali Baba’s cave.

Along the walls there are wooden shelves on which are organised works in progress, moulds, cardboard boxes, plastic bags with mysterious contents, a hat, a stained painter’s apron and, further on, an assortment of other objects. In a corner, a round table and some chairs invite visitors to try some treat or other gracefully offered by the mistress of the place.

In the centre of this room are work tables, some lumps of clay, phantasmal shapes covered with white sheets or plastic sheets, products of sorcery, brushes, oils… all impregnated with a strong smell of intellectual and mystical alchemy. The inspiration of Véronique is here, with us, at the heart of this universe. But where does the inspiration come from for such energetic sweetness? What are its sources?

Véronique evolves in the middle of her universe. I imagine an angel, a sort of ectoplasm, who watches over her children while floating lightly above them. So much softness contained in peaceful strength. A hand of steel in a velvet glove. This duality imbues her works. Approach a canvas or a sculpture and it is this strength that bursts forth. Angel faces made into images by the artist. The “Pétillantes”   They look so pure that they belong in heaven. Such tenderness! Such sensuality! Doe-eyes; a little pointed nose turned decidedly to the sky; lips that ask more of you than merely a compliment. At first sight, the Pétillantes are agreeable, gracious, elegant little ladies. But… don’t be so sure….

I invite you now to begin your visit. Allow yourself to stroll and dream…

Véro, I thank you for giving me the opportunity to express my feelings.

I wish you all the happiness in the world.

Pierre Lerot

L’artiste

clanet-artisteVéronique Clanet, une vie d’artiste

 

Sociétaire de la prestigieuse Fondation Taylor, membre de la maison des artistes, depuis plus de 20 ans Veronique Clanet expose en France mais aussi à l’étranger. Des moments privilégiés pour découvrir des œuvres pleines de tendresse, de délicatesse et de sensibilité.

Originaire de l’Ariège c’est à Lahitte-Toupière petit village situé dans les Hautes-Pyrénées que l’artiste a élu domicile.

A 27 ans elle entre à l’Ecole des Arts de Tarbes.

Si ses premières créations s’inspirent très sensiblement de MODIGLIANI, son style s’affirme très rapidement avec des œuvres où la représentation féminine, le port de tête, l’expression des visages mais aussi le travail sur les couleurs sont mis en valeurs.

En 2001 elle crée  et anime « l’atelier de Véro ». Une activité qui  lui permettra d’enseigner les arts plastiques tout en continuant à parfaire sa connaissance artistique.

Après 10 ans d’une expérience riche en partage et en émotions elle décide de se consacrer pleinement à son art et plus particulièrement à la sculpture.

Cette deuxième période verra l’expression de la sensibilité à travers la réalisation de bronzes, « les femmes feuilles », ou la maitrise du mouvement s’affirmera à travers des scènes voluptueuses et sensuelles empreintes de paix, d’amour et de douceur.

Véronique Clanet ne pouvait cependant pas se satisfaire de cette seule approche artistique. Poussée par une débordante ambition créatrice elle fait le choix d’aborder son œuvre sous d’autres formes, d’autres techniques, d’autres matières.

C’est donc naturellement qu’elle décide de reprendre le pinceau. Un retour aux sources qui verra l’affirmation et la reconnaissance de l’artiste avec la naissance des emblématiques « pétillantes » qui à elles seules symbolisent l’univers propre de Véronique Clanet.

Quelles soient sur toile, en résine ou en terre cuite nous sommes plongés dans un univers années folles ou le regard de ces demoiselles distille un savant mélange fait de naïveté et de séduction.

Il s’agit bien là d’une invitation à venir découvrir les œuvres d’une artiste qui sait se diversifier en créant des œuvres stylées mais également à thème (Marianne) sous des formats qui trouveront leur place aussi bien dans des galeries que sur les parvis des plus prestigieux espaces dédiés à la contemplation.

Il ne vous reste plus désormais qu’à venir les découvrir, les approcher, les écouter et sans aucun doute qu’elles sauront vous transporter et vous faire partager ce merveilleux monde féérique des « pétillantes ».

Pascal Carabin

 


 

clanet-atelierUne artiste peintre, sculpteur inscrite au coeur des Hautes-Pyrénées

 

Imaginez un joli petit village des Hautes-Pyrénées.

Quelques maisons authentiques jetées pêle-mêle dans une nature à peine maîtrisée.

Une sérénité qui vous gagne d’emblée dès que l’on franchit les premières habitations.

Hors du stress et des nuisances des grandes villes, c’est là que Véronique CLANET s’installe avec sa famille. Sa maison typique des lieux est dissimulée dans un écrin de tendresse et d’amour. Et pourtant, cette ancienne bâtisse, cette végétation bien ancrée dans son sol dégagent une force et une stabilité qui imposent le respect et la confiance.

Etant gentiment invité, je découvre ce lieu qui me parait magique. J’y suis attiré. Attiré par l’authenticité du lieu. Une envie de me laisser envahir par le calme qui y règne.

Je pénètre dans le jardin qui entoure cette demeure. Je me sens plus léger, rassuré. Le vide se fait en moi. Que du bonheur !

Quoi de plus normal que d’y découvrir une artiste.

Une artiste vraie dans ses émotions, dans sa finesse d’interprétation.

Mais aussi une artiste toute en puissance, qui puise sa force dans ses racines mais résolument tournée vers le futur.

Le seuil de l’atelier franchi, c’est un univers particulier qui s’ouvre à moi. Je m’attendais à découvrir l’antre d’une artiste tel qu’on se l’imagine, désordonné, encombré, sentant la terre, l’huile, la transpiration, le café froid et le tabac. Rien de tout cela. Une ordonnance parfaite. Le rez-de-chaussée est consacré à la sculpture. L’étage, lui, laisse place à un atelier de peinture et un showroom. Deux espaces dédiés à la créativité et à la concrétisation des rêves.

Retour à l’atelier de sculpture. Je suis frappé par cette lumière naturelle, ce soleil qui entre de toutes parts pour illuminer la caverne d’Ali Baba. Le long des murs, des étagères en bois ordonnent parfaitement les œuvres en cours, des moules, des boîtes en cartons et sacs en plastique aux contenus mystérieux, un chapeau, un tablier entaché de peinture un peu plus loin et bien d’autres objets des plus disparates. Dans un coin, une table ronde et des chaises invitent les visiteurs à déguster l’une ou l’autre saveur offerte avec grâce par la maîtresse des lieux.

Et au centre de cette pièce, des tables de travail, des mottes de terre, des fantômes recouverts de draps blancs et de plastiques, des produits de sorcière, des pinceaux, des huiles, … et une forte odeur d’alchimie intellectuelle et mystique. L’inspiration de Véronique est là, parmi nous, au cœur de cet univers. Mais d’où lui vient une telle inspiration, cette énergique douceur ? Quelles en sont les sources ?

Véronique évolue au milieu de son univers. J’imagine un ange, une sorte d’ectoplasme, qui veille sur ses enfants en flottant légèrement. Tant de douceur contenue dans une force tranquille. Une main de fer dans un gant de velours. Cette dualité s’impose dans ses œuvres.

Approchez-vous d’une toile, d’une sculpture et c’est cette force contenue qui jaillit. Des visages d’anges à l’image de l’artiste. Des « Pétillantes ». On leur donnerait le bon Dieu sans confession. Quelle tendresse ! Quelle sensualité ! Un regard de biche, un petit nez pointu résolument tourné vers le ciel, des lèvres qui donnent envie d’un peu plus qu’un compliment. A la première approche, les Pétillantes sont de gentilles, gracieuses et élégantes petites dames bien sympathiques…mais…ne vous y fiez pas…

Je vous invite donc maintenant à commencer la visite. Laissez-vous aller à la flânerie, à la rêverie …

Je remercie Véro de m’avoir offert l’opportunité d’exprimer mon ressenti.

Je vous souhaite autant de bonheur.

Pierre Lerot